The Casa Velha do Palheiro was built in early 19th Century as a hunting lodge for the Count Carvalhal and was bought in public auction in 1885 by John Burden Blandy. The Casa Velha (“Old House”) was restored in 1996 and opened on 1st May 1997 as Madeira’s first five star Country House Hotel. The original bedrooms (5) were restored, two new rooms overlooking the count’s carriageway entrance were added, and the master bedrooms were converted to Junior Suites. The Casa Velha now has three separate buildings. The “Old House”, with public areas, 3 Junior Suites, 3 deluxe rooms and 4 standard rooms, the “Garden” building with 14 standard rooms and the new building, overlooking the golf course, which houses 3 Senior Suites, 10 superior rooms and a sitting room.Nestled in the hills to the east of Funchal. Casa Velha do Palheiro is situated just 7 km (15 minutes) from the centre of Funchal.